

December 1, 2021

Executive Director Shoshana Lew Colorado Department of Transportation 2829 W. Howard Place Denver, CO 80204

Dear Executive Director Lew,

On behalf of the Denver Streets Partnership (DSP), we are writing in regards to the reprioritization of Year 4 of CDOT's 10-Year Plan. DSP is a coalition of community groups advocating for people-friendly streets in Denver. The members of our coalition believe in an equitable and vibrant Denver that guarantees our public spaces are designed for people. We believe that human dignity should be the guiding principle for the design of our transportation system so that everyone can thrive and connect to what matters most.

The funding from the recently passed Bipartisan Infrastructure Bill (BIB) is historic and has the potential to be transformational. However, the devil is in the details when it comes to funding allocation, which is why we are excited that you are taking this opportunity to reevaluate your 10-Year Plan, starting immediately with Year 4. As a collective, we have reviewed the programs and projects in Region 1 and are urging you to prioritize and increase investment in the following in Year 4:

- Safer Main Streets
- Regionwide Trail Grade Separations and Crossings Improvements
- Regionwide Arterial Transit Improvements
- Vision Zero Priority Improvements

These programs and projects will help meet the transportation needs of a growing state, increase access to opportunities for low income Coloradans, achieve our state's commitment to reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and eliminate traffic fatalities.

We're looking forward to continuing to engage with CDOT throughout the reprioritization of the current 10-Year Plan. Please let us know if you have any questions or if you would like to continue this dialogue.

Sincerely,

Jill Locantore Executive Director Denver Streets Partnership

Danny Katz Executive Director, CoPIRG Chair, Denver Streets Partnership Steering Committee

Rebecca Dubroff Director of Government Relations American Heart Association

Piep van Heuven Government Relations Director Bicycle Colorado

Nick LeMasters President and CEO Cherry Creek North Business Improvement District

Frank Locantore Executive Director Colfax Ave Business Improvement District

Peter Krahenbuhl CEO and Executive Director Colorado CarShare

Jaime Lewis Transit Advisor Colorado Cross Disability Coalition

Rob Toftness Co-Founder Denver Bicycle Lobby

Kate Williams Executive Director DRMAC Michael Ruddock Policy Manager Healthier Colorado

Dan Shah Executive Director West Colfax Business Improvement District

Adam Estroff YIMBY Denver President

Cc: Rebecca White Aaron Willis Paul Jesaitis Amber Blake Doug Rex Ron Papsdorf